Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance registration period Tuesday, April 13 -
Friday, April 23
Classes begin Tuesday, August 31
Labor Day Monday, September 6
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars TBD
Last day to add a course TBD
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript TBD
Tuition reduction request forms due Tuesday, September 14
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) TBD
Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet
Thursday, October 14 -
Sunday, October 17
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 18
Last day to change grade type status in a course (LPS students must complete a Grade Type Change Webform) TBD
Advance registration for spring term TBD
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must complete a withdrawal form) TBD
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 23 &
Wednesday, November 24
Thanksgiving Break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet
Wednesday, November 24
Thanksgiving Break ends - Classes resume Monday, November 29
Fall term classes end Friday, December 10
Reading days Saturday, December 11 -
Tuesday, December 14
Final examinations Wednesday, December 15 -
Wednesday, December 22
Fall term ends Thursday, December 19
Fels MPA
Ready to learn more?
Sign up to receive details about Fels programs and events
Fels MPA
Fels in the community
Our students, alumni, and faculty are committed to making change
Fels MPA
World-class instruction
The Fels community includes expert Penn scholars and seasoned practitioners

Fels Institute of Government

The Fels Institute of Government
3814 Walnut St. 
Philadelphia, PA 19104

(215) 898-7326
felsinstitute@sas.upenn.edu